Couple of New Paintings by Marie Kazalia

These are a bit different than what I’ve painted up until now. Simply put, I’ve started adding bits of bright colors–such as fluorescent red and fluorescent green–against larger areas of more muted tones.

In the back of my mind, I’ve been thinking about Picasso–not his forms, shattered faces, or cubism as much as his use of color. y thoughts and observations unconsciously affect my painting.)

What I’ve been paying attention of late, is Picasso’s use of color. Picasso was a brilliant master of color. But one thing about his use of color that has begun to stand out to me, more and more looking at images of his work, is his use of bright color punctuated amid mixed and muted tones. Or, sometimes the reverse–overall intense color punctuated by areas of muted tones. A device of contrast used brilliantly over and over in his work. Take a look at the images of Picasso’s paintings that I’ve collected on my Pinterest board here. I’m not aware of Picasso ever using fluorescent paints, but he, like no other, knew how to handle tone and color so that they work together and create a contrasting separation.

Ogdoad, Marie Kazalia, 2015
Ogdoad, Marie Kazalia, 2015
xeriscaping, painting on Coventry Rag fine art paper, 23 x 30 inches, Oct 2015, Marie Kazalia
xeriscaping, painting on Coventry Rag fine art paper, 23 x 30 inches, Oct 2015, Marie Kazalia
Leave a Reply

