some more involving plaid

I have a series poured oil paintings on canvas and panel from a few years ago, that I’ve called abstract plaid paintings. Some have sold, and there has been a renewed interest in others for online sales venues. The plaid has reappeared this month as grounds in a couple of synthetic polymer and pigments, and Flashe paintings on paper.

Sprechgesang 1, Marie Kazalia, July 2013
Sprechgesang 1, Marie Kazalia, July 2013
Pop, pop, Madrasi, pop, Marie Kazalia, July 2013
Pop, pop, Madrasi, pop, Marie Kazalia, July 2013

I was surprised when this Madrasi plaid emerged as I painted, and perhaps my year in South India where the plaid is quite common has had an influence all along.

Red earth,Cobalt green, Marie Kazalia, July 2013
Red earth,Cobalt green, Marie Kazalia, July 2013

This one has no plaid influence, but after I painted it I noted the fired clay color unconsciously mixed from earth red, orange and other colors. I recognize the influence from my years working as a Ceramic lab technician making clay, glazes and firing pieces in kilns–work I did part-time when I was an art student.

One thought on “some more involving plaid

Leave a Reply

