Talking in Circles, a series within a series

For many months now, I’ve been working with circles, orbs, dots, spots, painting and developing each paintings as I worked. The paintings that I’m posting here are all from a series within a series I’ve titled Talking in Circles. This sub-series is designated as different due to the fact that I developed these painting ideas in my iPad before paintings them on paper. I just bought my iPad the last day of February, so I’ve had it just over two months. I discovered an iPad app called Sketchbook Pro 6 that is easy to use. I also customized my iPad with a skin from Decal Girls printed with one of my paintings, and I used one of my iPad sketches for wallpaper on my iPad–so it really feels like it is my sketchbook. The advantage of using my iPad as a sketchbook is that the entire color palette is in the Sketchbook app–no need to carry markers, pens, or pencils. Using the Sketchbook app in my iPad to try various color combinations, layering and patterning saves a lot of time developing an idea, because it is fast and easy to create it in the Sketchbook app, make a working copy and continue working on the idea. I then used my iPad sketches to and work from as I painted the paintings in this series on Lennox fine art paper using Flashe and some acrylic fine art paints.

Talking in Circles 1, Marie Kazalia May 2013
Talking in Circles 1, mixed media painting on Lennox fine art paper, Marie Kazalia May 2013
Talking in Circles 2, Marie Kazalia April 2013
Talking in Circles 2, mixed media painting on Lennox fine art paper, Marie Kazalia April 2013
Talking in Circles 2, Detail
Talking in Circles 2, Detail
Talking in Circles 3: Quincux
Talking in Circles 3: quincunx, mixed media painting on Lennox fine art paper, Marie Kazalia, May 2013
7 thoughts on “Talking in Circles, a series within a series

    1. Marie! I love this series and if I understand you right, you have created this using your i pad which is even more astounding. The art works look very natural, as if they are hand painted with art materials. I like the compositions and the layering. There is something playful going on here! And I truly enjoy this as we live in a swirling world of complications. It is wonderful to see art that allow the viewer to experience a lightness and freedom while at the same time the circles offer room for contemplation!

      Like

      1. Laara–they are hand-painted with Flashe and acrylic on Lennox fine art paper. I thought I said rather clearly that I worked from initial sketches made in my iPad. Perhaps I will spell out each step in future posts. Thanks for letting me know that I was not clear.

        Like

Leave a Reply

